Sebastian J. Flowers
I’m a Transman Bodybuilder. This is How Fitness and Diet Helped Me to Transition from Female to Male

Sebastian J. Flowers' Stats When We Talked with Him 💪

Country:
United States
Age:
31 years
Weight:
56 kg
(124 lbs)
Height:
175 cm
(5 '9)
Follow Sebastian on Instagram

Listen to this interview

The Bulk Hackers robot can read Sebastian's interview aloud for you (playtime 8 minutes and 55 seconds) 🤖

👋 Hi! Tell us about yourself and your training

Hi everyone! My name is Sebastian J. Flowers and I’m a 31-year-old Female to Male Transgender person. I’m of Belizean and Honduran descent and I currently live in Brooklyn, New York.

When I’m not acting or modeling, I work as a substitute teacher for special education and elementary students. In my spare time, I intern as a creative consultant, fashion stylist and run my own vegan delivery business. Recently, I’ve published my first book and memoir, available on Amazon called, Kisses For A Hummingbird.

I’ve been training for nearly as long as I’ve been vegan; almost 10 years. When I began transitioning from female to male, I had allergic reactions to the hormone replacement medicine, testosterone, prescribed by my doctor. I was also gaining mass quicker than ever, so I decided to detox.

Veganism and heavy cardio sessions were my answers. I’d walk around Brooklyn for hours or use the elliptical at the gym for at least two hours. I love doing anything athletic.

This summer, I spent my time indoor rock climbing at Brooklyn Boulders, riding my fixie bike over the Manhattan Bridge, and playing basketball with friends at the park.


⏱ Describe a typical day of training


I like working out in different places because it keeps the sessions from becoming mundane.
Tweet This Share This

I love training. I love cardio especially. My goal has always been to be lean and shredded, similar to Bruce Lee or Bob Marley. Both of which are my idols.

If I’m at the gym I usually put in three hours, which includes two hours of cardio on the elliptical, 40 minutes on the weight machines, and 20 minutes with the free weights. In that order.

If I’m not at the gym, say I’m at home, I have a stationary bike that I’ll ride for a couple of hours. If I’m outside, I’ll walk from my home in Brooklyn over the Manhattan Bridge and back home. That’s usually 2.5 to 3 hours of cardio.

I like working out in different places because it keeps the sessions from becoming mundane. I always have a new experience and I need that, considering I train five days a week.

I would train everyday if I have a shoot or a special opportunity coming up. I don’t train with anyone, unless it’s a client.

I love blasting my music in my wireless headphones with my Nike army camouflage bag on my shoulders. In it I always have my weight belt, gloves, Essentia water, two towels, two shirts, two shorts, and my lock and key.

I always have to change after cardio. I’m always soaked ha ha. I love it. Then I’d change, stretch, and go lift weights.

👊 How do you keep going and push harder?

I aspire to have the best physique that I can for my health. It all started 10 years ago, with me having allergies to a medicine that was supposed to help me be my best self.

When I realized that I had to take my health into my own hands, I saw the true power in consistently working out and eating right. Life completely changed for me at that point. I gained more confidence and energy. I began acting and modeling. And now those two things have become passions that motivate me to keep training and keep striving towards greatness.

One of the biggest challenges I’ve faced was nearly dying twice due to postoperative complications from having a hysterectomy, my gender affirming surgery. I had to learn how to walk again, regain bladder sensitivity, and so much more.

Staying focused on what I put into my body, and taking baby steps in physical therapy on my own and with a professional, kept me motivated. Now that I’m healing, I don’t see myself stopping training anytime soon.

🏆 How are you doing today and what does the future look like?

I obtained my Bachelor’s years ago and I am now currently pursuing a degree in Computer Science. In a year, I will be finished with school and I plan to immediately move to Los Angeles to pursue acting, modeling, creative directing, TV hosting, and the entertainment industry as a whole. Once I’m living in Los Angeles, I’ll work remotely as a computer security specialist.

For additional income, I’ll continue to work as a special education and elementary substitute teacher. Physically, I see myself staying the same weight, no more than 125lbs, and less than 10% body fat. I’ve been maintaining this for the most part the last seven years, and my diet and training is only getting better.

🤕 How do you recover, rest and handle injuries?

I avoid injuries by sleeping at least six hours a night, stretching properly and staying hydrated. I believe stretching has prevented a lot of injuries for me while training. When I didn’t stretch more often than not, I’d pull a muscle.

During this time I was already going to physical therapy for neck, back, and foot problems due to my surgery complications, so the physical therapist was able to work out some of my knots while I was already there.

As I was getting better, I’d drink sea moss, bladderwrack and spirulina. All great natural supplements for me. When I had spare time at home, I’d roll tennis balls under my feet and back, and stretch my neck, arms, and back with an elastic band.


🍎 How is your diet and what supplements do you use?

The diet that I follow is called Alkaline Veganism. I’ve been following this diet for nearly five years. Before that I was just a vegan for another five years. And before that I was vegetarian for seven years. I’ve been living a health conscious life for about 17 years.

I generally don’t think about calories. I do watch my carbohydrate intake as I can’t really process it due to stomach issues from surgery.

I focus on amazing fats like avocados, protein rich garbanzos, and easily digestible fiber like quinoa. I’m always focused on shredding or maintaining it so it makes my consumption always stays the same.

When I’m going out, most people already know that I’ll probably just get something after. I love fresh produce and most places don’t have a smoothie bar available. I eat whenever I’m hungry and I make sure to snack on antioxidant rich fruits like blueberries and red seeded grapes, walnuts, seaweed and dates.

👍 What has inspired and motivated you?

Watching any documentary on Bruce Lee and Bob Marley always motivates me to be my best self. Bruce Lee’s discipline and Bob Marley’s undeniable love for himself and love for humanity, exudes a type character that I will always strive for. Working out and training have been the conduit for me attaining even a piece of their greatness.

Music that I like to listen to at the gym is Soca. The best advice I ever received was on an Instagram meme. “Happiness is the real rich. Health is the real wealth. Kindness is the real cool. And peace of mind is the real bag.” It’s something that I now live by and it keeps me focused.

✏️ Advice for other people who want to improve themselves?


Forgive yourself, thank your body for sticking it out with you, and keep going.
Tweet This Share This

My best advice to those that are just starting to live a healthy life is to start off in baby steps and to stay consistent with those baby steps.

Don’t talk down on yourself if you mess up or take more than one cheat day. Forgive yourself, thank your body for sticking it out with you, and keep going.

One hack that I would suggest is getting a stationary bicycle. You can find used ones on Craigslist.org, or you can convert your own bicycle into a stationary one, by purchasing a stationary bicycle stand for about $50 online. I also highly suggest a pull up bar. You can find that online for $30.


🤝 Are you taking on clients right now?

I am currently taking on-line clients and real-life clients in Brooklyn, NY. I also run a vegan food delivery service and cook foods, such as gluten free pizza and soy free teriyaki burgers.

With me, you’re not just getting a high energy positive individual as a trainer, but also an amazing chef who can also bring you bulk meals with the preparation of a five-star vegan restaurant.

The most common question I get is, “Can someone bulk on a vegan diet?” My answer is yes. At 5’9” I’ve bulked up to 160 lbs on a vegan diet and kept 10% body fat.

📝 Where can we learn more about you?

You can learn more about me by visiting my Instagram accounts and checking out a link to my resume. Please follow. I appreciate you in advance!

Personal Instagram: @BelizeanVegan
Memoir Instagram: @Kisses_For_A_Hummingbird
Vegan Delivery Instagram: @BelizeanVeganJuices
Resume Link: Linktr.ee/belizeanvegan


Get The Bulk Hackers Newsletter

Don’t stop getting better and stronger.

Sign up for our free newsletter:


What Do You Think?

Be cool when you comment. Use your personal name, not your business name. Don't be rude and remember to write your comment in English so everybody can benefit from it.

Your email address will not be published and you will get an email when other people reply to the interview.


Interview Tags: Bodybuilder 

Get The Bulk Hackers Newsletter

Don’t stop getting better and stronger.

Sign up for our free newsletter:

Share
Tweet
Reddit